8 Toxic Behaviors That Kill Relationships

2bebetter
7 min readFeb 11, 2024

Relationships require effort and commitment to thrive. However, some relationships can become toxic, causing emotional and even physical harm. Toxic behaviors erode trust, damage self-esteem, and hinder the growth of a healthy relationship. In this article, we will explore eight common toxic behaviors that can kill relationships and discuss ways to address them. By identifying these behaviors and taking proactive steps, you can protect and nurture your relationships for a happier and healthier future.

Photo by Aaron Birch on Unsplash

1. Lack of Support

“In my previous relationship, I often felt unsupported when facing challenges or expressing my emotions. Whenever I tried to talk to my partner about my feelings, they would dismiss them or change the subject. It left me feeling invalidated and alone. Eventually, I realized the importance of surrounding myself with supportive friends and family who uplifted me during difficult times. Their encouragement helped boost my self-esteem and reminded me that I deserved to be heard and supported in my relationship.”

Feeling unsupported in a relationship can be detrimental to your emotional well-being. If your partner fails to listen to you or dismisses your emotions, it’s important to address this issue. Open communication is key. Talk to your partner about your feelings and the need for support…

--

--

2bebetter

"Exploring love & relationships. Providing advice, insights, and inspiration to inspire you to find & maintain healthy and fulfilling connections."