After forgiveness, how to let go of your lover’s betrayal? If you recognize something clearly, you will know the answer

2bebetter
6 min readMay 18, 2024

“I want to make myself stronger, or even stronger so that I can let go of my lover’s betrayal. I don’t want to be so hard, and I don’t want to live in the entanglement of betrayal every day.”

This may be a problem that many parties who choose to forgive in a marital crisis want to overcome. It seems that only by doing this can the pain caused by betrayal pass and the marriage truly start over.

However, just like physical pain, if we resist the pain and cannot accept the pain, the feeling of pain is still there, but it will become more conspicuous because of our unwillingness to accept it.

It becomes very difficult to make oneself stronger and not be affected by this pain. This has to make people think deeply about how strong one needs to be to get out of the pain caused by betrayal and no longer suffer from it. And resentment, and no longer worry about and deny the next life because of its existence?

A heart-wrenching truth: Real strength is not about how much power you have to stay away from pain. Real strength is the courage to face reality and admit vulnerability.

If I push it further, I would like to say that true strength is to be able to see your fragility and accept your fragility and powerlessness.

--

--

2bebetter

"Exploring love & relationships. Providing advice, insights, and inspiration to inspire you to find & maintain healthy and fulfilling connections."