“Haha” is so perfunctory! 6 Tips for Chatting Online… It’s Important to Be Ambiguous

2bebetter
7 min readApr 27, 2024

When I was chatting with a friend a few days ago, someone on his dating app happened to respond to him, so he casually told me what the conversation was about. He said that he told people at around 2 o’clock in the middle of the night, “I’m not asleep yet, haha,” and they didn’t reply to him anymore. I said: “Your haha ​​is used to resolve embarrassment! The two words “haha” are embarrassing as hell. People will think you are just like other people, and of course, they won’t be interested. Think about it for yourself, if you told someone, “I like you very much,” and the other person replied, “Yes, haha.” Do you still want to continue?” He said, “X, you suddenly became cold, that’s bullshit!” I said, “Then That’s right!”

Photo by Samantha Gades on Unsplash

Many people will ask me how to chat. What should I send to the other party? If I hadn’t seen the actual conversation, I wouldn’t necessarily be able to identify the problem because the problem is hidden in places where people wouldn’t even think to tell me. Most people would not think that just the word “haha” would have such a counter-effect.

Once, a person who came to me for consultation showed me her conversation record. I pointed to a particularly long paragraph and asked her: “How would you feel if a boy suddenly said these words to you out of nowhere…

--

--

2bebetter

"Exploring love & relationships. Providing advice, insights, and inspiration to inspire you to find & maintain healthy and fulfilling connections."