2bebetter
1 min readDec 19, 2023

--

Thank you for your insightful feedback on my article. You make an excellent point - true success is not just achieving your own goals, but lifting up others in the process. I fully agree that distancing yourself from peers when you experience some career or financial gains is counterproductive and can lead to negative consequences.

As you wisely state, becoming a leader means helping nurture growth in those around you. Whether through mentoring, making connections, or supporting their professional progress, being present for your colleagues and friend circle leads to collective success rather than isolated achievement. I should emphasize the communal aspects more.

My intent was not to condone or encourage distancing behaviors in the face of achievement. However, by not adequately highlighting the importance of remaining engaged with and supportive of one's networks, I can see how that message was not clear enough. You are correct that we best thrive when everyone around us also thrives. I appreciate you pushing me to correct that tone and better communicate shared prosperity over individual gains.

Comments like yours will make me a more thoughtful writer in presenting complete perspectives. Thank you again for holding me accountable to convey the right themes around achievement and leadership.

--

--

2bebetter

"Exploring love & relationships. Providing advice, insights, and inspiration to inspire you to find & maintain healthy and fulfilling connections."