What is “Puppy Socialization”? I want to socialize with my puppy.

2bebetter
4 min readJan 11, 2021

How do I properly socialize my dog? Is socialization important?

Most people have a definition of socialization

For example, “I’ll take him for a walk in the park every day to make friends” or “I’ll take him to a pet restaurant every weekend to meet dog friends” or “I take him to a dog-friendly cafe near us every day, so it’s okay if other dogs are mean to him, he’ll get it later”… and so on (think about what you think first).

As trainers, we often receive private messages about training dogs to be socialized: “I take him out every day so he can learn to make friends” or “My dog hates dogs, would it be better if I got another one to keep him company? or “I’ve taken him to pet restaurants and pet parks to meet other dogs, but he still can’t make dog friends” or “He thinks he’s a human being, and every time he sees a dog, he shows a look of disdain”.

--

--

2bebetter

"Exploring love & relationships. Providing advice, insights, and inspiration to inspire you to find & maintain healthy and fulfilling connections."